"This year's finalists show that the technology world is embracing simplicity and good design without giving up features and power," said editor Toby Shapshak.

The Gadget of the Year is the Asus Eee Pad Transformer which took on the iPad and surpassed the judges’ expectations. “...its additional skills compensate for the paucity of Android tablet apps. It bridges the tablet/laptop divide: through its keyboard dock it gains all the power of a netbook, but with the immediate start-up and swish touchscreen skills of the best of its brethren.”

Samsung Galaxy S11 is the Phone of the Year emerging ahead of the Android phone pack. The judges said that the Galaxy S 11 “brought the greatest arsenal of hardware weaponry ever seen on the smartphone battlefield”. Runners up in this category were the HTC Sensation, BlackBerry Bold 9900, LG Optimus 3D, Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc S, Google Nexus S and Nokia E6.

The Tablet of the Year is Apple’s iPad 2 which judges described as “the most complete tablet on the market”. Apple's MacBook Air clinched Computer of the Year. Commenting on their choice, the judges said, “It melds the intuitiveness of a tablet with the power of a grown up laptop.”

The TV of the Year is the Samsung UA55D800, a combination of beauty and brains combining media streaming, online video capabilities; iOS and Android control apps. Other close contenders in this category were the Panasonic TX–P4GT30, Phillips 50PFL7956T, LG47LW650T and Sony KDL–46HX923.

Other winners were:

Gaming Gadget of the Year – Nintendo 3DS
Car of Year – Range Rover Evoque
Camera of the Year – Olympus Pen E-P3
Sports & Fitness Gadget of the Year – Sony Ericsson Xperia Active
Audio Gadget of the Year – Sonos Play: 3
SAT NAV of the Year – Tom Tom Live 1000

Stuff continues its successful upward trend with circulation growing 25% year-on-year for the last two years running, even in periods when magazine sales have declined. And most recently in the 2011 PICA Awards, Stuff editor, Toby Shapshak, received a Highly Commended accolade in the category for Consumer Editor of the Year.