Alongside the star-studded list of nominees, Lil’ Wayne, Taylor Swift, Nicki Minaj, Bruno Mars, Miguel, Justin Bieber, Pitbull, Christina Aguilera, Selena Gomez, the Band Perry, Macklemore and Ryan Lewis, Chris Brown, Ed Sheeran, Akon, Ne-Yo, David Guetta and Icona Pop, are all lined up to perform at the Las Vegas' MGM Grand Garden Arena.

The awards are being hosted by 30 Rock alum, Tracy Morgan, and will also feature Prince. He will be honoured with the Billboard Icon Award and perform at the event.

Taylor Swift, fun. and Maroon 5 lead the finalists for the 2013 Billboard Music Awards. While all three artists are finalists in an impressive 11 categories this year, Swift and Maroon 5 are also vying for the coveted Top Artist prize.

Rihanna is another big nominee. Following her 18 category nominations in 2011 and 13 in 2012, she earned nominations in 10 categories in 2013, including the fiercely competitive Top Artist category.

2013 also sees the addition of several EDM categories, reflecting the popularity of Electronic Dance Music over the past year. David Guetta, Skrillex, Swedish House Mafia and deadmau5 will compete for the Top EDM Album prize. Top EDM Song finalists include Baauer's Harlem Shake, Calvin Harris' Feel So Close and Swedish House Mafia's Don't You Worry Child (featuring John Martin).

Madonna, meanwhile, will be honoured with the Top Touring Artist Award for the success of her sold-out, 88-date MDNA Tour, which was 2012's top-grossing tour ($305-million).

Bieber, Swift and Mars are also vying for the Milestone Award, a fan-driven honour that will be presented by Cee Lo Green. This new award celebrates the ingenuity of the hit-makers of 2012 – and sees music fans have their say.

Billboard Music Awards finalists were based on key fan interactions with music, including album and digital singles sales, radio airplay, touring, streaming and social interactions on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, VEVO, Spotify and other popular online destinations for music.

The 2013 Billboard Awards will be broadcast live exclusively on Channel O on Monday, 20 May between 2:00 and 05:00 with a repeat at 20:30 on the same day.