The judging panel will decide who will be successful in their category and walk away with R15 000, a trophy and a certificate.

Convening judge this year is Mathatha Tsedu, who also oversaw the judging panel and process last year. The panel is made up of industry experts in the newspaper industry and includes Dinesh Balliah, Henry Jefreys, Mike Siluma, Tyrone August, Phil Mthimkhulu Pippa Green, Liesl Louw-Vaundrum, Mary Papayya, Ryland Fisher, Neo Ntsoma, Maud Motanyane, Lizeka Mda, Thabo Leshilo and Themba Hadebe.

The panel will aim to select the best of the best in the categories, such as Hard News, Feature Writing, Columns and Editorials and News Photographs. The newly introduced Lifestyle category has also drawn a number of entries.

Winners will be announced on Thursday, 12 September at The Venue, Melrose Arch. All finalists will receive certificates. Commendation Certificates are awarded at the judges’ discretion.

For more information, visit You can also follow PSS on Facebook or on Twitter.