Winners will receive R15 000, a trophy and a certificate. All finalists will receive certificates. Commendation Certificates are awarded at the judges’ discretion.

The following categories will only be announced at the awards evening, to be held on Thursday, 12 September at The Venue, Melrose Arch:

Category 15: SA Story of the Year
Category 16: Upcoming / Rising Star of the Year
Category 17: Journalist of the Year
Category 18: Allan Kirkland Soga Lifetime Achiever Award

There are no finalists in category 11: Sports Photographs.

The judging panel was headed up by convening judge, Mathatha Tsedu, and included newspaper industry experts Dinesh Balliah, Henry Jefreys, Mike Siluma, Tyrone August, Phil Mthimkhulu Pippa Green, Liesl Louw-Vaundrum, Mary Papayya, Ryland Fisher, Neo Ntsoma, Maud Motanyane, Lizeka Mda, Thabo Leshilo and Themba Hadebe.

For more information, visit You can also follow PSS on Facebook or on Twitter.