Over the past 10 years, The Radio Awards has seen industry participation grow from an initial 196 entries to nearly 1 900 in 2019 — with almost 200 radio stations across South Africa vying to receive top honours in setting the benchmark for radio professionals to strive towards.

The online entry system provides comprehensive details of entry requirements and criteria. Stations will have until Friday, 24 January 2020 to submit their work. Entrants can follow these three steps to submit:

1. Register

Entries can be submitted via The Radio Awards website. Applicants are encouraged to complete the registration form and click submit. If an applicant already has a profile from last year, they can use their username and password to log in.

2. Open the dashboard

Once logged in, entrants will be redirected to The Radio Awards dashboard. Applicants can use the toolbar on the left side to navigate their way around the entry system.

3. Select and complete the appropriate entry form

Applicants must choose the category that they wish to enter into by clicking the 'New Entry' button on the toolbar on the left of the screen. Applicants must ensure that they complete all the fields required for each entry that they wish to make.

The complete list of open categories include:
  • Afternoon Drive Presenter
  • Afternoon Drive Show
  • Breakfast Show
  • Breakfast Show Presenter
  • Business and Finance Show
  • Community Project
  • Content Producer
  • Daytime Show
  • Drama Programme
  • Field News Reporter
  • Multi-Channel Promotion
  • Music Show
  • News and Actuality Show 
  • News Bulletin Reader
  • Night-time Show
  • Station Imaging
  • Radio Innovation
  • Promotions Stunt/Event
  • Radio Documentary
  • Sports Presenter
  • Sports Show
  • Traffic Presenter
  • Weekend Radio Show Podcast
  • Internet Radio Show
  • Podcast
  • Bursary Award
  • Bright Star
  • Hall of Fame
  • Lifetime Achiever
  • Station of the Year
"The Radio Awards has cemented itself as the longest-running and most prestigious recognition event for radio professionals in South Africa," says Taryn Westoby, head of events for Arena Holdings (formally known as Tiso Blackstar Group).

"Not only is it a credible, transparent and well-judged programme, but the awards gala dinner has become a highly anticipated opportunity for station managers, producers, presenters and their teams to come together, let their hair down and cheer themselves and their colleagues at one of the most significant celebrations of the year," adds Westoby.

"We are proud to continue recognising and honouring South Africa's outstanding radio talent. In doing so, we hope to inspire and encourage another record-breaking year of top-quality entries," concludes Westoby.

For more information, visit www.radioawards.co.za. You can also follow The Radio Awards on Facebook or on Twitter.