The awards ceremony
The winners will be announced at an award ceremony to be held at Webber Wentzel, 10 Fricker Road, Illovo Boulevard, Johannesburg on Wednesday, 9 November from 12:30 to 14:00. The guest speaker at the ceremony will be Ferial Haffajee, editor of the City Press newspaper.

Print Media (including online publication): R 50 000
Radio: R 50 000
Television: R 50 000
No runner up prizes will be awarded.

Who may enter
Any journalist reporting on legal issues in the print or electronic media in the Republic of South Africa.

Closing date for entries
Entries must be received by no later than 17:00 on Wednesday, 12 October (Proof of publication must be included).

By post: Webber Wentzel Legal Journalist of the Year Award, P.O. Box 61771, Marshalltown, 2107
By hand: Christine Makama, Webber Wentzel, 10 Fricker Road, Illovo Boulevard, Johannesburg
By email:


John Campbell has been a practising advocate since December 1989 and has appeared in various fora including the Constitutional Court, the High Court, the Competition Tribunal, the Advertising Standards Authority and the Independent Electoral Commission. John has also served as an assessor on the Labour Appeal Court, an Arbitrator under the aegis of the Arbitration Foundation of Southern Africa and has done a wide variety of pro bono work. He has had numerous articles published and is the co-author of Competition Law (Juta, 2002).

Franz Krüger is adjunct professor and director of the Wits Radio Academy. He is also the ombud for the Mail &amp Guardian, a member of the SA Press Appeals Panel and the editor of His book Black, white and grey: journalism ethics in South Africa was published in 2004, while a second title, The Radio Journalism Toolkit, was published in 2006. Both are widely used as prescribed text
at colleges and universities in South Africa and abroad.

Judging critera:
Quality of reporting that demonstrates the ability to understand, interpret and provide in-depth analysis or comment on legal issues and developments that impact on society and people’s lives. Balanced and objective reporting and clarity in terms of representing how the given issues impact on or affect the future. Ability of the entrant to report on one or more aspects of the legal issues and proceedings.

Guidelines for submissions:
Entrants should submit no more than four articles published between 1 September 2010 and 31 August 2011 in the print category and no more than four DVDs, CDs, video clips or cassette recordings of broadcasts (TV or Radio) made between 1 September 2010 and 31 August 2011. The four articles or broadcasts may be on individual topics or part of a series of articles or programmes. Submissions should be accompanied by a brief synopsis of their content, together with the reasons for their selection. Editorial commentary submissions should be accompanied by a letter from the entrant’s editor confirming that the material is the entrant’s own work. Radio entries should not exceed 20 minutes in length.

2008 - 2010 winners:

Print media: Franny Rabkin: Business Day
Electronic media: Michael Duffet: Face to Face Films

Print media: Franny Rabkin: Business Day
Electronic media: Hazel Friedman: SABC

Print media: Rob Rose: Financial Mail
Electronic media: Sasha Wales-Smith: SABC