The prize will be awarded to him during a ceremony to be held at the State House in Nairobi, Kenya on Saturday, 15 December.

The Lifetime Africa Achievement Prize is awarded to individuals who have selflessly devoted themselves to bring about change in the lives of Africans within the last decade. Change that impacts communities and that significantly enhances the lives of the people for a better future.
After a local and international research and assessment is conducted by a group of highly learned citizens of Africa, a distinguished list of persons are selected. The Lifetime Africa Achievement Prize Laureates are then nominated from a short list.

Other 2012 LAAP recipients are the late president of Ghana, Profession John Mills for Peace, Democratic Governance and Development; Mohammed El Baradei of Egypt for Scientific Research in Africa; Dr Mohammed Ibrahim from Sudan for Action for Africa and the President of Uganda, HE Yoweri Museveni for National Building and African Leadership.

Past recipients of the Lifetime Africa Achievement Prize include Desmond Tutu and Cyril Ramaphosa from South Africa; Dr Kofi Annan, former Secretary General of the United Nations; James Wolfensohn former President of the World Bank in the USA and Wole Soyinka (Nobel laureate) for literature.