Francois Viviers, executive: marketing and communications at Capitec Bank, won the Marketer of the Year Award 2019, which is a category with nominated entries.

Heidi Brauer, Hollard Insurance CMO and chairperson of the Marketer of the Year sub-committee, says, "Viviers is completely deserving of the Marketer of the Year Award for marketing leadership consistency, and a track record of solid business results."

"He is an inspirational marketer who really understands that marketing is both science and art by harmonising gut and experience with data. His role within Capitec is both wide and deep, but it is his meticulous attention to detail and understanding of people that really sets him apart," Brauer adds. 

See the full list of winners and finalists for campaign categories below:

According to MAA, the biggest award of the night presented by Johnny Burger, the chairperson of the South African Hall of Fame (powered by Samsung), was to induct Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu into the South African Hall of Fame.   

Yvonne Johnston, chairperson of the MAA council, says, "The calibre of the entries was exceptional and the judges had a tough time selecting the best of the best from the work submitted. There were 480 entries, which is remarkable for the inaugural year."   

"These winners set a high benchmark for the industry and raise the bar for local marketers. These are the people who bring the art and science of marketing to life. They keep disrupting to stay ahead of the pack," Johnston adds.  

For more information, visit You can also follow the MAA on Facebook, Twitter or on Instagram.