The awards are a highly respected extension of AfricaCom, the world's largest Africa-focussed technology, telecommunications and media event. It will take place in Cape Town from Tuesday, 12 November to Thursday, 14 November.

The shortlist includes:

Connecting the Continent Award:
  • Angola Cables
  • Cambridge Broadband Networks (CNBL)
  • Liquid Telecom
  • Orange
  • Parallel Wireless
  • PCCW Global
  • Upstream Systems
Delivering Excellence in Customer Experience Award: 
  • Alepo Technologies Inc.
  • Ericsson & MTN Group
  • MTN & Huawei
  • MTN South Africa & Huawei
  • Orange
Everything as a service — Best Cloud or Application Solution Award:
  • Mavenir
  • PCCW Global
  • Orange
  • Verimatrix
Changing Lives Award:
  • Erissson South Africa in partnership with Wot-If? Trust
  • iShamba Limited
  • ISOCEL Telecom
  • KaiOS Technologies
  • Liquid Telecom
  • Orange
Best Digital Entertainment Innovation Award:
  • Orange
  • Telecoming
Security Product or Service of the Year Award:
  • Orange
  • Upstream Systems
Best Network Management Software Award:
  • Ericsson
  • Mavenir
  • MTN & Huawei
  • Orange — Huawei
  • PCCW Global
Best Connected Consumer Device Award:
  • Huawei Technologies
  • Orange (Smart Wifi)
  • Orange (SANZA)
Best Innovation for Enterprise Award:
  • Comviva Technologies Ltd
  • LMT
  • MTN South Africa & Huawei
  • MTN Uganda & Huawei
  • SqwidNet
Most Innovative Service — The Business of Tomorrow Award:
  • BRCK
  • Cassava Smartech and Comviva Technologies Ltd
  • KaiOS Technologies
  • Safaricom & Huawei
  • Tramigo
  • World Telecom Labs and iPlans
CXO of the Year Award:
  • Anthoinet Ohene-Amoah — CEO, GetHer In Digital
  • Antonio Nunes — CEO, Angola Cables
  • Charles Molapisi — CTO, MTN Group
  • Gerard Lokossou — CEO, Orange DRC
  • Richmond Nagbe Tobii — managing director, LIBTELCO
  • Stephane Duproz — CEO, Africa Data Centres
  • Yonny Firedman — co-founder and CEO, Menta Music
Enterprise CXO of the Year Award:
  • Ainojie (Alex) Irune — COO, Oando Energy Resources
  • Busiswa Lutshaba — director, Blu Space Communications South Africa
  • Irene Kiwia — founder and CEO, Twaa
  • Kasango Dickens — CEO, Pison Public Relations
  • Niklas Ekdahl — CEO, Connected Video at Multichoice
  • Rebatho Madiba — acting CIO, Transnet
  • Tijan Chorr — founder and CEO, LagaAfrik
  • Warren Hero — CDO, Webber Wentzel
Supported by PCCW Global, the awards will be held on Tuesday, 13 November at The Lookout in Granger Bay, Cape Town. The theme for the event is 'Secret Garden' — marking the juxtaposition between the natural and digital worlds.

PCCW Global has invited all attendees to the after-party, which is also taking place at The Lookout. This includes registered delegates and visitors, who are not participating in the awards.

AfricaCom aims to bring together 15 000 attendees, 450 speakers and 500 exhibitors showcasing technologies and solutions, comprising everything from 5G, AI, IoT, Fintech and Blockchain.

The media can register here, and delegates can register here

For more information, visit or contact [email protected]. You can also follow the AfricaCom Awards on Facebook, Twitter or on Instagram.