"This is good news," says the Awards’ convener of judges, Clive Loxton, creative faculty head of the AAA School of Advertising. "Especially against the backdrop of poor performing economy."

Loxton adds, "We commend the shareholders for their bravery, and not inconsiderable investment, in both time and money, to produce a result South Africa can be proud of."

The Awards recognise newspaper excellence in advertising, printing, production, layout, and typography as well as the balanced use of pictures and graphics.

The Frewin Award category recognises urban daily newspapers with a circulation above 50 000, while the McCall Award category recognises urban daily newspapers with a circulation of 50 000 or less. The Joel Mervis category recognises urban weekly newspapers irrespective of their circulation.

"Firstly, there is attention to detail in every facet of their work; and secondly, a love of their craft. While they all differ in their 'look', they achieve this page after page," Loxton says. "I would like to thank my fellow judges Logan Naidu, Tebogo Serabatse, and Linda Rademan – all recognised professionals in their fields, for their valuable contribution."

The Awards ceremony will take place on Thursday, 19 October at The Venue Greenpark, also known as Johannesburg World Trade Centre in Sandton, Gauteng.

For more information, visit www.pdmedia.org.za. Alternatively, connect with them on Facebook.