media update’s Adam Wakefield was at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg where the very best in South African radio were recognised for their excellence over the past year.

The evening was opened by master of ceremonies David Kau, who throughout the evening disarmed and kept attendees and award winners on their toes with his wit and sense of humour.

Lance Rothschild, CEO of the Liberty Radio Awards, in his address before the awards were announced, said over 1860 entries were received for this year's edition.

“Tonight we celebrate the eighth rendition of the Liberty Radio Awards and it has been a privilege for me – I’m a self-confessed radio addict – to witness at such close hand the exceptional talent within this industry," he said.

“You see, there is a certain magic when you listen to the radio. That’s because as you hear the audio, you create visual images and these images are so vivid, far more vivid then can be captured on any other medium.”

Rothschild said that every year, when listening to some of the entries, he is moved to tears by submissions that raise the bar of what can be achieved through the seemingly simple use of sound.

“I wish to pay tribute to you, the custodians of this wonderful, vibrant industry, for the important work you do in this incredibly diverse country,” he said.

Apart from nabbing Commercial Station of the Year, Algoa FM also received the following awards:
  • Commercial Community Project – Big Walk for Cancer;
  • Commercial Daytime ShowThe Algoa FM Top 30;
  • Commercial Promotions Stunt/Event – Algoa FM Big Walk for Cancer (shared with Jacaranda FM, for Jacaranda FM Billboard);
Community Station of the Year, Hot 91.9, walked away with several other awards, being:
  • Community Afternoon Drive Presenter – Simon Parkinson;
  • Community Afternoon Drive ShowThe Big Joburg Drive;
  • My Station Most Votes;
  • My Station Loyal Listeners;
  • Campus and Community Sports ShowHot Sport with John Walland;
  • Campus and Community Station Imaging;
  • Community Weekend Radio ShowThe Tony Murrell Show;
Adadume Mgadlela received the Bursary Award, while the following people were inducted into the Hall of Fame:
  • Dave Tiltmann;
  • Dudu ‘Lady D’ Khoza;
  • Haider Ali Dhorat;
  • Kevin Savage;
  • Lloyd Madurai;
  • Mel Gahler;
  • Phumzile Mnci;
  • Thuso Motaung;
  • Wilson B Nkosi;
  • Zweli Nokhatywa;
The full list of award winners can be found here.

For more information, visit

Want to stay up to date with the latest media news? Subscribe to our newsletter.
The news reader is the person synonymous with keeping us informed on the hour when listening to the radio. However they do more than just tell the audience what is happening in their world. Read more in our article, News reading in the radio industry: A Q&A with Aurelie Kalenga readers do more than just read the news.