"I'd like to extend congratulations to all the 2020 award winners for truly embodying this year's summit theme, 'The Ceiling Crashers 2.0: Power with Purpose'," says Renuka Methil, managing editor of FWA.

"It was the perfect end to a day of enlightenment of panel discussions and 'in the spotlight' talks that showcased the strides being made by women everywhere. We hope these well-deserved awards serve to highlight the impact being made by these women and provide inspiration for our future leaders," concludes Methil.

Rakesh Wahi, founder the ABN Group, welcomed this year's attendants to the awards ceremony. The opening address was given by KZN MEC for economic development, tourism and environmental affairs, Nomusa Dube-Ncube.

This was followed by the address by Kwa-Zulu Natal premier Sihle Zikalala. Following these engaging talks, the 2020 winners were announced. These included:
  • Forbes Woman Africa Technology and Innovation Award: Dr Aisha Pandor, co-founder of SweepSouth, South Africa
  • Forbes Woman Africa Gen Y Award: Nthabiseng Mosia, founder of Easy Solar, Sierra Leone
  • Forbes Woman Africa Entertainer Award: DJ Zinhle, South Africa
  • Forbes Woman Africa Entrepreneur Award: Olajumoke Adenowo, founder of Ad Consulting, Nigeria
  • Forbes Woman Africa Male Gender Advocate Award: Bafana Khumalo,co-founder of Sonke Gender Justice, South Africa
  • Forbes Woman Africa Social Impact Award: Charmaine Mabuza, co-founder of Zamani Holdings, South Africa
  • Forbes Woman Africa Pioneer Award: Irene Charnley, founder and deputy chairperson of Smile Telecoms Holdings
  • Forbes Woman Africa Chairperson Award: Ibukun Awosika, chairperson of First Bank of Nigeria
  • Forbes Woman Africa Legacy Award: Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, minister of cooperative governance and traditional Affairs, South Africa
For more information, visit www.Leadingwomensummit.co.za. You can also follow the FWA Leading Women Summit on Facebook or on Twitter.