The 2022 edition of the awards has launched a new category called Rising Star.

According to the awards, Rising Star recognises talented individuals who are making a significant impact through creativity and effectiveness in content-led advertising strategies early on in their careers.

The awards are not for profit as every £30 of the £40 entry fee will be donated to Reporters Without Borders. The charity aims to protect and support journalism and freedom of speech around the world. 

In addition to presenting awards to category winners on the night, the World Media Awards offer a unique prize.

The winning entries are amplified in a worldwide advertising campaign valued at more than €750 000 running across the World Media Group's leading international media brands.

The media brands include:
  • The Atlantic
  • BBC Global News
  • Bloomberg Media Group
  • Business Insider
  • The Economist
  • The Financial Times
  • Forbes
  • Fortune
  • National Geographic
  • Politico Europe
  • Reuters
  • The New York Times Company
  • TIME
  • The Wall Street Journal, and
  • The Washington Post.
2021's winning entries included Grand Prix winners:
  • Malaria No More
  • Lombard Odier
  • The North Face
  • PlayStation
  • Samsung Galaxy
  • Shell
  • Can-Am On-Road
  • REWE Markt GmbH
  • Tourism Australia, and
  • Volkswagen.
"Every year, the WMAs celebrate the brands and advertising teams pushing the boundaries of creativity and engagement through their content-led marketing strategies," says Damian Douglas, president of the World Media Group and managing director, EMEA, at TIME.

Douglas adds, "This year, we're searching for success stories from those just starting out, yet already making a big difference. Our Rising Star Award aims to surface the very best young talent working for media owners, agencies and brands — to reward them for their innovation and creative thinking in content-driven advertising."

How to enter:
Individuals are encouraged to enter here.

The entry fee is £40, of which 75% will be donated to Reporters Without Borders. Entry for non-member media owners remains at £100, of which 75% will be donated to the charity. The Rising Star category is free to enter; individuals can enter themselves for the award or can be nominated by their peers.

Campaigns must have intentionally targeted audiences in at least three countries and 75% of activity needs to have been implemented between January 2021 and March 2022. There are no requirements for campaigns to have run in any of the World Media Group brands.

The closing date for entries is Thursday, 12 May.

According to the awards, the independent jury is made up of heavyweight judges. This is to reflect the importance of collaboration in creating successful international and content-driven advertising campaigns. Individuals can find out more about this year's judges here.

There are 10 award categories open for general entry including Rising Star and Social Good. This is alongside the Content Leadership & Innovation Award, which invites nominations from WMG members. The jury will select the Grand Prix from amongst the following category winners:
  • Automotive
  • Brand & Media Owner Partnership
  • Corporate Influencer
  • Financial Services
  • Lifestyle & Luxury
  • Media & Entertainment
  • Technology & Telecoms, and
  • Travel & Tourism.
Awards event:
The winners will be announced at a live ceremony on Thursday, 8 September. Shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group and additional tickets will be available for purchase. 

For more information, visit You can also follow the World Media Awards on Facebook or on Twitter.