The awards say that there were over 1 500 entries across 23 categories, with more than 900 registered creators, brands, agencies and influencers included.

The awards entries took place for 14 weeks with 36 judges.

The DStv Content Creator Awards will be held on Saturday, 10 September in Johannesburg, where all the winners will be announced. 

The DSTV Content Creator Awards nominees and their categories are as follows:

Comedy Award:
  • Prev Reddy
  • Suhayl Essa
  • Nadia Jaftha
  • Khanyisa Unfiltered, and
  • Tricia Mpisi.

Alter Ego Award:

  • Coconut Kelz
  • Gosiame Ntshole (GC celebrity)
  • Prev Reddy, and
  • Cassidy Nicholson (A Girl Named Cassidy).

Cause Award:

  • MTN WildAid
  • Siv Ngesi for 'Sanitary Pad Vending Machine'
  • Nicole Bessick
  • Puleng Moloi, and
  • Nosipho Mhlanga.

How I Shot It Award:

  • Donovan Goliath, and
  • Chris Rogers.

Social Commentary Award:

  • Slaying Goliath
  • Politically Aweh
  • Checkers Sixty60 Tinder Swindler
  • The Kiffness, and
  • Gosiame Ntshole (GC Celebrity).

Podcast of the Year:

  • Our Love Journey With Mpoomy
  • SlikourOnlife
  • POPcast4Real
  • Women Wright, and
  • Sam Tech Girl Wright.

Kasi Content Creator Award:

  • Siyabulela Makumsha
  • Thabang Nkotoane
  • Masego Jacobs
  • Keotshepile Mosagale, and
  • Kamogelo Molefe.

Stitch Award:
  • Doef Cake
  • Yasien Fredericks
  • Boiiinito
  • Jeandre Balie, and
  • Tsoanelo Moyo.

humb-Stopping Award:

  • Barbie Jackson
  • WhatMyBoyfriendWore by Sergio Ines
  • Nadia Jaftha
  • Donovan Goliath, and
  • Chris Rogers.

Sol Best Content Creator Award:

  • The Kiffness
  • Lemii Loco (Molemo Lehoko)
  • Nina Hastie
  • Chris Rogers, and
  • Wian Van den Berg.

Netwerk24 Smaakmaker:
  • Jacques Oosthuizen
  • Crazy Werrie (Werner Smit)
  • QMan (Quiton Janse van Rensburg)
  • Wongley (Chanley Wong), and
  • Lisa Met Die Rooi Hare (Lisa van Rooyen).

Performance Award:
  • Rudi Smit
  • Diamond Thug
  • The Kiffness
  • Blxck Natives Studio, and
  • Chantel Ben.

Film / Festival / Event Art Award:
  • AdinsDesign (Adin Kamanda)
  • Lindiwe Hope
  • OAS1SONE, and
  • Daniel Rheed.

Pop Culture Art Award:
  • Falko Fantastic
  • Chris Valentine
  • Ryan Jonathan
  • Frans Smit, and
  • Zinhle Sithebe.

Best Brand-Owned Platform presented by Meltwater:
  • Savanna Virtual Comedy Bar
  • MTN WildAid
  • Checkers Sixty60
  • Savanna Launches Gugu, and
  • Brutal Fruit for 'You Belong'.

Best Game / App Award:
  • Ackermans Character Shop for Sea Monster
  • MatchKit SA
  • Savanna Launches Gugu, and
  • LoveCapeTown.

Best Influencer Campaign Award:
  • 'My Kreepy Teacher' by Retroviral
  • '#DoritosFlaminHotDuets' by 365 Digital
  • 'LUX' by Edelman
  • 'Love Cape Town' by Find Your Freedom
  • 'Jameson' by Rapt

Automative Award:
  • The Car Scene
  • Muzi Sambo
  • Juliet McGuire
  • DN Spots (Brad Sampson), and
  • Matthew Kanniah.

Beauty Award:
  • Phaello Tshabalala
  • Mbali Christina
  • Francesca Lindon
  • Nuzhah Jacobs, and
  • Rezah Sampson.

Fashion and Style Award:
  • Blue Mbombo
  • Kim Jayde
  • WhatMyBoyfriendWore (by Sergio Ines)
  • Nabilah Kariem, and
  • Yoliswa Mqoco.

Fitness Award:
  • Zinhle Masango
  • Angelique Fredericks
  • Zaakirah Khalek
  • Lucky Fadzi, and
  • Juanita Khumalo.

Foodie Award:
  • Lorna Maseko
  • Chef Nti (Nthabiseng Ramaboa)
  • In The Midnight Kitchen (Zorah Booley)
  • Sifo The Cooking Husband (Sinoyolo Sifo), and
  • Cooking With Luyanda (Luyanda Mafanya).

Content of the Year presented by DStv:
  • Donovan Goliath
  • Nadia Jaftha, and
  • The Kiffness.

Individuals can follow the '#DStvContentCreatorAwards' hashtag on social pages to view highlights from all nominee content.

The awards say that from all 23 categories, eight now go out to the public vote. It's now up to fans to decide who the winners will be in these categories:

  1. Content of the Year award, presented by DStv
  2. Sol Best Content Creator Award
  3. Thumb-stopping Award.
  4. Netwerk24 Smaakmaker
  5. Cause Award
  6. Kasi Content Creator Award
  7. Comedy Award, and
  8. Alter Ego Award.
According to the awards. everyone who votes stands to win a prize to the value of R20 000, which includes a set of double tickets to the DStv Content Creator Awards main event on Saturday, 10 September in Johannesburg and additional sponsored prizes.

Individuals can vote here for their favourite nominees by clicking on the nominee and submitting their vote. Each person can vote once per public voting category for their one favourite nominee in each category.

Voting closes at midnight on Thursday, 25 August.

DStv says that it is giving everyone one last chance to win an award and R10 000 for the Best Reaction Video, presented by DStv.

Individuals need to create a short reaction video about The Real Housewives of Cape Town, post it on social media using the hashtag '#DStvReactionVideo' and they could win R10 000 and a DStv Content Creator Award. All entrants need to be 18 years or older.

As part of the event's aim to support emerging talent, Entrepreneurs Organization Cape Town sponsored two, seven-month mentorship programmes through Over the Rainbow for aspiring entrepreneurs.

The winners of these mentorships are Zanele Shwane of Women at the Well and Ashia Nkontsa of Brand Magazine SA

For more information, visit You can also follow DStv Content Creator Awards on Facebook or on Instagram.