The awards say that it has a focus on highlighting great work that signals the way to a sustainable future for quality news content in the digital age.

Sixteen independent judges judged around 150 entries to come up with the final shortlists.

The awards say that judges were looking for work that fulfilled the following criteria:
  • the quality of design
  • technical proficiency — slickness of delivery and ease of access to information for the audience
  • journalistic excellence — rigour, revelation and investigation
  • readership — meaningful engagement with the target audience, and
  • commercial sustainability — is this work which helps create a sustainable future of quality journalism in the digital age?
Chairperson of judges Dominic Ponsford says, "It was encouraging to find so much online journalism based around deep reporting, originality and making a difference for the target audience. We've taken care to include links to all the shortlisted work so that readers can be inspired by a selection of the best online journalism of the last year."

The winners will be announced at a reception directly after Press Gazette's Future of Media Technology Conference at the Waldorf Hilton in London on Wednesday, 21 September.

Future of Media Awards 2022 shortlists are as follows for the following categories:

Data Journalism

Digital Media Excellence — Specialist / B2B

Growth and Innovation
  • Reach for Google News Showcase
  • Tortoise Media for Slow Newscast
  • The Telegraph for Stories That Matter — advertising in quality digital news, and
  • Brands4News.

Digital Launch of the Year

Digital Media Excellence — News and Current Affairs

Newsletter of the Year

Digital Media Excellence: Lifestyle
Digital Storytelling, sponsored by LineUp Systems:

Podcast of the Year
The awards say that those involved in a shortlisted entry can attend the conference and awards for the discounted price of £175. The quote discount code is FOMC-FINALISTS-2022.

Individuals can book their place at the Future of Media Technology Conference and Future of Media Awards here.

Sponsorship inquiries for the Future of Media Awards should be directed to [email protected].

For more information, visit You can also follow the Future of Media Awards on Facebook or on Twitter.