The INMA Global Media Awards competition announcement was supported by the Google News Initiative.

During the awards ceremony at New York's Harvard Club, 40 first-place winners were unveiled across 20 categories.

These categories were aimed at surfacing innovation and best practices in news brands — optimising the use of:
  • media features
  • subscriptions
  • advertising
  • data and insights
  • product, and
  • newsroom innovation.

Winning the Best in Show was Schibsted-owned Bergens Tidende in Norway for 'Journey Around the World', a storytelling format enabling users to travel around the world visually. Judges say that this campaign was a world-class execution of an epic journey featuring total immersion in an adventure.

The INMA competition, which has been rewarding media excellence since 1937, evaluates news media companies across two segments:
  1. national brands, and
  2. regional brands.

Three companies won multiple first-place awards:
  • Bennett, Coleman & Co.
  • Schibsted across its brands in Norway, and
  • Stampen Media.

Four companies garnered two first places:
  • Advance Local
  • Amedia
  • Jagran Prakashan, and
  • Relevo from Vocento.

The 2023 Global Media Awards competition attracted 775 entries from 239 market-leading news media brands in 40 countries. Participants included:
  • newspaper media
  • magazine media
  • digital media
  • television media, and
  • radio media.

An international jury of 54 media executives from 19 countries selected 198 finalists earlier in 2023.

Judges also selected the best in six world regions from the finalists:
  • Best in Africa: Media24 Group for 'Adspace24 – Swipe Cards and Catalogue'
  • Best in Asia / Pacific: The Straits Times for 'World Cup: A 'Hat-Trick' Special'
  • Best in Europe: Bergens Tidende in Norway for 'Journey Around the World'
  • Best in Latin America: Editora Globo for 'Um Só Planeta'
  • Best in North America: The Wall Street Journal for 'The Future of Everything Festival', and
  • Best in South Asia: Bennett, Coleman, and Co. for 'The Times of a Better India'.

In the spirit of innovation, INMA judges say that they decided to give out a special award based on overall excellence across multiple categories. A Special Jury Distinction was awarded to:
  • Aftenposten
  • Bergens Tidende
  • Schibsted, and
  • VG.

This was for their use of technology paired with outstanding multi-media narratives and excellent journalism.

"We were honoured to be able to celebrate these huge accomplishments in person for the first time in four years," concludes Earl J. Wilkinson, executive director and CEO of INMA. "The brilliance of this 2023 class really shined a light on the creativity and innovation taking root in the news media industry. We're incredibly proud of all the entrants and especially of this year's winners."

Individuals are encouraged to view the full list of categories here

For more information, visit You can also follow INMA on Facebook and Twitter.