Now in its 13th year — and the first with Telkom as the naming rights partner — the awards acknowledge not only the on-air personalities but also the unsung heroes working behind the scenes to deliver engaging, informative and entertaining radio content. 

"We would like to celebrate and congratulate all the winners at the Telkom Radio Awards 2023.  Your contribution and dedication to this medium showcase the powerful spirit of connection brought about by radio," says Kgomotso Zimase, senior specialist of PR and brand activations at Telkom.

"We are proud to be associated with the awards and believe that together we can continue to ride the waves of progress, which highlights our commitment to leaving no one behind in a connected World," adds Zimase.  

The winners

This year, 68 winners were announced across 29 categories in:
  • Campus
  • Community
  • PBS (Public Broadcast Service)
  • Commercial licence categories
  • Podcasts, and
  • Internet radio.
Station of the Year Awards went to:
  • 947 (Commercial)
  • UkhoziFM (PBS)
  • GrootFM (Community), and
  • TuksFM (Campus).

According to the awards, winners were determined by a combined scoring of their on-air success and their submitted motivation. Stations were shortlisted as finalists in this category based on the total points received, which was determined by where their entry ranked within the category (their on-air success).

The finalists then submitted a motivation regarding their station's:
  • innovation
  • audience growth
  • community outreach
  • X-factor, and
  • general achievements.

This motivation was reviewed and scored by the awards' advisory board. The scores from part one and two were then combined to determine the overall winner. 
The 2023 Hall of Fame inductees are:
  • Alvin Pillay
  • Andrew Pike
  • Kenny Maistry
  • Nic de Jager
  • Nomthunzi Vuza, and
  • Ray White.

According to the awards, these are individuals who have made an indelible contribution to radio for at least 30 years and were nominated by industry peers.
Four individuals were inducted as Bright Stars — young talent, 26 years and younger — who possess a deep understanding and passion for the medium. The 2023 inductees are:
  • Chris Chuene
  • Kgomotso Monyai
  • Neliswa Cele, and
  • Nick Archibald. 
Nondumiso Sallina Masina was the recipient of the Bursary Award through the WITS Radio Academy.
In the MyStation Listener's Choice categories, the MyStation — Most Votes Award went to UkhoziFM, while the MyStation — Most Loyal Listeners Award went to GrootFM.
"The power that radio has in reaching every corner of South Africa is unparalleled, and keeping the medium of radio alive is essential. The purpose of the awards goes beyond recognising individual achievement," says Taryn Westoby, GM of events for Arena Holdings, owners of the Radio Awards.
"It's about celebrating the talent that vibrates in every radio wave, touching the hearts and minds of our incredibly unique and diverse nation. These awards contribute to the growth of this industry and highlight the profound influence of radio in shaping our cultural landscape," concludes Westoby.

The Telkom Radio Awards 2023 results were reviewed by BDO South Africa. The comprehensive list of winners is available for viewing on the awards website. 
For more information, visit or contact [email protected]. You can also follow the Telkom Radio Awards on Facebook, X or on Instagram