The Crown Gospel Music Awards give recognition to gospel artists who contributed to the growth of the genre. Gospel Music loyalists are given the opportunity to vote for their favorite nominees in their respective categories. Viewers can vote by sending their categories using the SMS line 34069.

Not only is SABC2 to be hosting the first live broadcast, but two of SABC2’s shows, the gospel talent search programme, I Want To Sing Gospel and the gospel music show, It’s Gospel Time will be running head to head in the Best Gospel TV Show category.

The guest presenters for the 2013 categories include, Afro Café’s Stoan Seate, Lerato Kganyago, Pearl Thusi, Sisanda Henna, Sonia Sedibe and Zizo Beda.

The best female category will be contended by four renowned vocalists: Lusanda Mcinga, Winnie Mashaba, Vicky Vilakazi and Hlengiwe Mhlaba. In 2012, the award was won by the 2013 nominee for Best Gospel Artist, Ntokozo Mbambo. The 'Classic of All Time' award will be contended by two of South Africa’s music industry heavyweights, Hlengiwe Mhlaba and Sipho 'Big Fish' Makhabane. This category was previously won by Avante.

Other nominees include:

- Judith Sephuma, Best Worship Song &amp Best DVD;
- S’fiso Ncwane, Best DVD;
- Nqubeko Mbatha, Best Male &amp Best Gospel Producer; and
- Jabu Hlongwane, Best Male &amp Best Gospel Artist.

The first ever live broadcast of the annual Crown Gospel Awards will air at 20:00 on Sunday, 17 November on SABC2.