The 13th Annual MTN South African Music Awards (SAMA) was held on Saturday, 14 April, at the Sun City Superbowl. The Awards recognises accomplishment in the South African recording industry by celebrating those groups and individuals who, in the opinion of its panel of judges, have excelled across the many genres and the various facets of the industry, including production, engineering and video production. Some of this year’s winners are: • Best Rap Album: Flabba • Best English Pop Album: Danny K • Best Afrikaans Rock: Fokofpolisiekar • Best Alternative Album: Lark • Best R&B Album: Claire Phillips • Best Music Video: Lira • Best Urban Dance Album: DJ Cleo • Best Kiddies Album: Steve Hofmeyer • Best English Contemporary Album: Johnny Clegg • Best Pop-Rock Gospel Album: MIC Simphiwe Dana took awards for Album of the year, Best Female Artist, Best Contemporary Jazz Album and Best Jazz Vocal Album. Best Duo, Best African Pop Album and Best DVD Compilation went to Mafikizolo. The Song of the Year Award went to DJ S'bu for Remember when it Rains. For further details, log on to