It is the place where MOUs and deals are signed, strategic connections are made and energy projects planned and pushed forward. It is also the continent’s highest profile energy event to date, bringing together the leaders who have been called upon to shape Africa’s energy landscape for the next 10 to 20 years and beyond.

Without energy, Africa’s economy cannot grow and the cogs of the global economy’s wheels are hampered. Energy is needed for life, for education, for healthcare and for development.

Without energy Africa cannot reach its promising growth potential. The window of opportunity for investment and growth in Africa’s energy sectors is limited, and current leaders must act decisively. The Africa Energy Indaba - the only energy event for Africans, by Africans - is driven to ensure that time-sensitive opportunities and responsibilities are accounted for at this critical time.

The Africa Energy Indaba is also the only energy event in Africa endorsed, adopted and supported by the World Energy Council (WEC) and is recognised as their Africa Regional Event. The WEC is the largest broad based representative energy association worldwide and as such, Energy Indaba enjoys endorsement at the highest level. The event has a strategic partnership with the Gauteng Growth and Development Agency (GGDA), supporting the Agency in its mandate to be the premier catalyst of innovation, business growth and socio-economic development within the South Africa region. In addition, support from the African Union Commission, the NEPAD Planning & Coordinating Agency (NPCA), and the South Africa National Energy Association (SANEA) provides delegates with insight into the cross border projects and access to key energy stakeholders in Africa.

Speakers confirmed to attend and address the 2014 Africa Energy Indaba are:

Dikobe Ben Martins, Minister of Energy, South Africa; Bonang Mohale, vice-chair for Africa, World Energy Council and chairperson of Shell South Africa; Dr Ibrahim Mayaki, CEO, NEPAD Planning &amp Coordinating Agency; Brian Dames, chief executive officer, Eskom; Marie-José Nadeau, chairperson, World Energy Council (WEC); Christoph Frei, general secretary, World Energy Council (WEC); Dr Latsoucabe Fall, Regional Manager for Africa, World Energy Council; Sisa Njikelana, MP, Parliamentary Committee on Energy, African National Congress; Dr Benon M Mutambi, chief executive officer, Energy Regulatory Authority, Uganda; Brian Statham, chairperson, The South African National Energy Association (SANEA); Minister Christopher Yaluma, Ministry of Mines, Energy and Water Development, Republic of Zambia; Aboubakari Baba-Moussa, director: Infrastructure and Energy, African Union Commission; Prof. Mosad Elmissiry, head of NEPAD Energy Programme, NEPAD; Misako Takahashi, head of Division, Office of Global Energy Policy, International Energy Agency; Kenneth Fairfax, deputy executive director, International Energy Agency; Mohinder Gulati, chief operating officer, United Nations Sustainable Energy for All; Philippe Joubert, executive chair, Global Electricity Initiative; James (Jim) Rogers, Retired chairperson and CEO, Duke Energy Corp; Siphiwe Ngwenya, CEO, GGDA; Vicky Basson, CEO, KES; Richard Doyle, managing director, 3E; Roy Baguma, manager, Transaction Execution, UECCC; Sicelo Xulu, managing director, City Power; David A Jarrett, Renewable Energies Section, Generation Projects; Trevor De Vries, managing director, Sub-Saharan Africa, AEG Power Solutions; Valerie Geen, head of Energy, National Business Initiative (NBI); Davin Chown, director, Genesis Eco-Energy; Wendy Green, head of Strategy, Cennergi; Debbie Roets, executive secretary, African Forum for Utility Regulators; Eric Leger, Country President South Africa, Schneider Electric; Pierre Lemonde, Science Attaché, French Embassy; Paul Fitzsimons, general manager, Power &amp Energy, GIBB; Wynand van der Merwe, Skills Development manager, NCPC-SA; Jason Schaffler, Regional Technical Coordinator, REEEP; Herbert Oberhänsli, VP, Economics &amp International Relations, Nestle SA; Dr Lawrence Jones, vice president, Utility Innovations and Infrastructure Resilience, Alstom Grid Inc; John Purchase, chief executive officer, Agricultural Business Chamber; Lisa Pearce, Senior Environmental specialist, IDC; Barry Bredenkamp, Energy Efficiency senior manager, SANEDI; Adam Simcock, chief executive officer, Carbon Check; Shaun Nel, Programme director, Energy Intensive User Group; Maurits Perold, chief executive officer, Green Habitat; Kevin James, Founder, Global Carbon Exchange; Daan Velthausz, Smart World Flagship Leader, CSIR; Dr Marco Lotz, Nedbank Group Sustainability Carbon Specialist, Enterprise Governance and Compliance; Arthur Hanna, Senior, Managing Director, Energy Industry Group, Accenture; Jason Nagy, African Business Development Manager, US Trade &amp Development Agency; Scott Brodsky, partner, Macfarlanes LLP; Andrew Etzinger, senior general manager, Eskom; Omar Vajeth, managing director, Aurora Generation; Greg Nott, director, Werksmans Attorneys; Dr Sam Amadi, chairperson/chief executive officer, Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission; Francois Viljoen, director, Cresco Project Finance; Jan Martin Witte, head of Division - Infrastructure Southern Africa, KfW; Rajen Pillay, CEO, Garuda Finance; Dudley Baylis, Bridge Capital Refco; Dave Wright, Special Advisor, Engen; Carel Snyman, Senior Manager: Green Transport: SANEDI; Adrian Stone, Energy Research Centre, University of Cape Town; Sue Lund, general manager, Public Policy and Sustainability, Transnet Tim Schweikert, President/CEO Sub-Saharan Africa/China/SEA, President/CEO, GE South Africa, Vice President GE, GE Transport; Ross Garvie, chief marketing manager – Passenger Cars, Nissan South Africa; Graeme Smith, general manager, Green Fuel; Gloria Magombo, chief executive office, Zimbabwe Energy Regulatory Authority; Alison Chikova, chief engineer, SAPP; Zalalem Gebrehiwot, Technical Assistant to the Executive Secretary, EAPP; Brian Day, head of Advocacy, Cennergi; Dr Agathe Maupin, researcher, South African Institute of International Affairs; Kevin (Kadri) Nassiep, CEO, SANEDI; Ian Curry, managing director, Basil Read Energy; Günter Schneider, Managing Director, Enolcon; Andrew Jones, managing director: Europe, Middle East and Africa, S&ampC Electric Europe Ltd; Barry McColl, GM Research, Testing and Development, Eskom; Henk Sa, managing director, EcoMetrix Africa; Cathy Laing, acting senior manager: Corporate Strategy, Eskom; Mike de Pontes, chief operating officer, iGAS; Mark Tiepelt, chairperson, Southern African Biogas Industry Association (SABIA); Ebrahim Takolia, CEO, SAOGA; and Bradley Cerff, vice president, Operations, SacOil Holdings.

For more information, visit